barcelona flaneuse

I've been to Barcelona three times and I'm ready to return!

The First Step…

1 Comment

A Verbal Stroll…

This will be an exercise in sorting things out, determining what’s important and what’s not, then attempting to deliver on the important part.  As this blog progresses, different concerns will rise to the top, a bit like dumplings cooking in a pot of broth.  Essential elements in the stew include travel, what it means to be a woman on her own, teaching and learning, home and family.  And how, at times, all the elements seem to pull at each other.

The Beautiful Commonplace…

IMG_2753

Pears at the market.

Yes, they’re just pears, but the vendors at Mercat de La Boqueria appreciate how beautiful they can be.  Finding the beautiful in the everyday seems easy in Barcelona, but I try to take this perspective with me everywhere.

Popsicles at Mercat de La Boqueria in Barcelona

Popsicles at Mercat de La Boqueria in Barcelona

The Flaneur…

The flaneur is a wanderer, a stroller, a saunterer, a passionate observer of life and flaneuse is his female counterpart.  That’s the role I aspire to.

I taught at Warren Wilson College near Asheville, North Carolina, for fourteen years.  During that time I traveled with a fabulous colleague and a clutch of students on travel-study expeditions to Ireland and Italy.  When asked to reflect on her day’s experience, a student prefaced her story, “Travel teaches me…”  I hope to bring to these pages some of the lessons travel (and my many students) have taught me.

The Happy Traveler…

At Museu d'Historia de la Ciutat Barcelona, Medusa has a bad day.

At Museu d’Historia de la Ciutat Barcelona, Medusa has a bad day.

Each day I stepped onto the street from my little Barcelona apartment during the month of April, I was instantly happy.  Why? It might have been the beauty and novelty of my surroundings, the promise of another meal of fried artichokes, the burgeoning display of flowers from balconies, or my freedom from responsibility.  In fact, I’d have had to be a real dope not to be happy.

My street in the morning.

I hope you’ll join me for future posts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Ann Turkle

I travel, I teach, I walk, I write, I draw. I spent big chunks of my life acquiring degrees, but I've learned as much from my students as I learned from my professors. I am always ambitious to learn more.

One thought on “The First Step…

  1. I miss you and I have been writing about you and the Black Mountain house, books from floor to ceiling, canvases splashed with yellow like egg yolks or sunflowers, the fat cats and the sweet dog, the sultry humid summers in the rhododendron shade and sweat of that house. I will read your blog and anything else you write. Anything.

Leave a Reply

